Email Services - Frequently Asked Questions:
Search the FAQ:
What is my quota and how do I check my disk usage?
Your quota is the amount of disk space that you are allowed to
use to store your mail, contacts and calendar information. The current base quota for accounts is
. As you approach this disk quota and are using over 92% of your disk quota, you will receive a message once a day warning you that you are nearing your disk quota. Since these messages are sent only once a day, it is possible that you can go over quota and not receive a warning message if you receive a great deal of mail in one day. If you need additional disk space, please see your
LSP or account
administrator. Your LSP or account administrator can increase your disk quota at any time but there is an additional cost for this extra disk space.
Zimbra users can use the web application,
Zimbra Account Services, to see their current quota
and how much disk space is currently used:
You can also see your current disk usage from the Zimbra Web Client (ZWC). In the upper right-hand corner of the
screen, you should see your display name with a very thin colored bar underneath it.
This colored bar indicates what percentage of your current disk quota is in use. This bar is usually green but will turn yellow if your disk usage exceeds 66% of your total disk quota. If you mouseover the bar and hold it there, you will get a pop-up window that will show your exact disk usage.
Quota: 62% (615.9 MB of 1000 MB)
N.B.: The location of this information in the ZWC changed from the left-hand of the screen to the right-hand of the screen with the upgrade to Zimbra 7.
Fully removing "deleted" messages
If you use an IMAP client (like Thunderbird or Apple Mail) with your Zimbra account, you may occasionally notice that your email folders take up much more space than the total of the messages they contain--for example, the Trash folder may contain 0 messages, but still take up some amount of space. When you move or delete a message using an IMAP client, the message isn't actually deleted from the original folder (e.g. the Inbox); rather, the original message is marked as moved on the server. IMAP clients shouldn't (and usually don't) show or count the marked messages. However, these messages still count against your disk space quota.
Luckily the fix is relatively easy. Use an IMAP client to delete those marked messages, though different clients will call it different things. Thunderbird calls it "compacting" and Apple Mail calls it "erasing deleted messages."
For more information, see this Mozilla article.